“You’re Hot”

I am married to a good, good man.

Today, on our way to the dentist, my husband was driving while I nonchalantly looked out the window with my mind wrapped around the dozens of thoughts that captured my attention. I glanced over at him and he said to me,out of the blue, “You’re hot.”

I honestly didn’t know how to respond. I think I giggled and said thanks, but my mind instantly thought, “Sure, as I’m on my way to mom jeans, milk stains, and postpartum craziness, I’m real hot. 

It was a hard compliment for me to accept.

I mean, come on. I’m to the point where buttoning non-maternity jeans is absolutely positively impossible, every time I bend over I get a crick in my back, I feel like at any given moment I could lose my balance and fall flat on my face due to the extra 13 pounds I’m carrying directly out in front of me (I seriously think half of my 13 pound weight gain is in my chest alone…will the growing ever come to an end? Good grief!), each time I bend down and stand up I grunt, and getting out of bed requires my husbands assistance. Real hot, huh?

Just thinking about this makes me giggle.

There are days I seriously feel like a frumpy freak that doesn’t have energy to even walk to the bathroom and back, and there are days I actually do feel productive, useful, and (dare I say?) pretty. Today was a day I felt pretty. But to receive the complement “you’re hot”? No, I wasn’t feeling THAT good!

When we were first married, my husband made it very clear to me that he would never say something to flatter me. If I received a compliment from him, it was because he absolutely believed the words he said. He told me he would never say to me something he did not believe was true.

So, when he looks at me and says, “You’re hot,” he absolutely believes I’m hot.

If my husband believes I’m hot, that’s all I need.

Well, that isn’t all I need. I need Jesus. I need Jesus real bad…and water. Oh, and I need food…and maybe a place to live. Okay, I need a lot of different things.

Nevertheless, my husband thinks I’m hot, and that’s good enough for me.

 

One comment on ““You’re Hot”

  1. I feel the same way! Trying to button my pre pregnancy jeans is still depressing and my son is now 5 months

    Like

Leave a comment